The New Mutants

And by New Mutants I mean Hip Hop…this generations worth of rappers (if we can call them that)

I grew up listening to the Golden Age of Hip Hop (1988-1996) and was fucking glorious like J.R.R Tolkien coke filled fever dream of Elves and Hobbits smoked out in the Riddlemark GLORIOUS.

And then Biggie Smalls and Tupac Shakur got themselves killed and then things got less than glorious and Sauron got took over Hip Hop,  but it wasn’t all bad at first, the nineties ended with some hope as it appeared that some new emcees took the reigns to guide us into the next millennium, but they all fizzled out within the year save a few.

Common. Mos Def. Talib Kweli.

But we needed more. And those extra soldiers that we expected never came, and those that did weren’t quite what we expected.

Kanye West.

What about those Hip Hop heroes that we grew up with?

Busta Rhymes. Dr. Dre. Snoop Dog.

They got old or they got less relevant while trying to stay competitive in this new generation, but some still fight the good fight.

Ludcris. Method Man. Red Man. Ghostface Killah. Raekwon.

While others fell to the madness of the One Ring.

Q-Tip. Phife. Ali Shaheed Muhammad…and sometimes Jarobi.

I can actually adequate anything to the Lord of the Rings, but I digress.  This is an introduction of what will be series of blogs on the topic of today’s Hip Hop, as I try and analyze what the fuck is wrong with it, if in fact if there’s anything wrong with it. Some of this shit wack, and I’m not feeling it, but just because I’m not feeling it does it necessarily mean that it’s wack?

I’m trying to be objective here so bear with me.

Also, another thing to note is that my generation is getting much older and crabbier now, so we have a natural disdain for anything new and disappointing and often ponder back to the days of old…knowing that those glory days will never come.

So for now I’ll leave you with a quote and some videos of yester year before I walk down the dark path of the present and the future.

“The world has changed. I see it in the water. I feel it in the Earth. I smell it in the air. Much that once was is lost, for none other then I, live who remember it.” -Galadriel

This entry was posted in Fight the Power, Music, The END is NIGH, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

