I used to make mixtapes all the time for my friends and boyfriends. Sometimes you can only say the things you really want to say with music.

In addition to music, one of my big passions is books.  Many of my weekend afternoons are spent at the coffee shop, listening to music and reading.  But weirdly, in proportion to other topics, I read surprisingly few books about music.  Unless you’re interested in reading about a handful of well-known artists (see the zillion books about the Beatles or the Rolling Stones), it can be hard to track down solid books about indie music.  So, I thought I’d start recommending some quality books about music I have found.

To kick things off, I’ll start with what is probably my favorite music-related book: Love Is A Mix Tape by Rob Sheffield.  This isn’t a traditional book about music – it doesn’t explore a particular genre or retell the antics of a particular band.  Rather, it speaks to the emotional connection between your life and your music that all…

View original post 264 more words

This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

