Lauryn Hill – “Neurotic Society” (Compulsory Mix)

I won’t lie.

I’ve never been a fan of Lauryn Hill the singer, because I knew Lauryn Hill the emcee first.

Lauryn Hill apparently owes a lot in taxes, and has signed a new record deal just pay them off.

It’s not ironic that is called the “Compulsory Mix”, considering that she was forced to rushed this song out by the label. Here’s what she had to say:

“Here is a link to a piece that I was ‘required’ to release immediately, by virtue of the impending legal deadline. I love being able to reach people directly, but in an ideal scenario, I would not have to rush the release of new music… but the message is still there. In light of Wednesday’s tragic loss (of former label mate Chris Kelly), I am even more pressed to YELL this to a multitude that may not understand the cost of allowing today’s unhealthy paradigms to remain unchecked!”

This song is a self revelation that I am truly jaded without a shadow of a doubt. For the past decade I’ve a bitched and mowed about the failures of Hip Hop and how we should have a renaissance so to speak, and here I am faced with exactly what I wanted and yet I’m shrugging my shoulders.

It’s not you L Boogie, it’s me. Even though this song isn’t completed by your standards it by far crushes anything that’s out now or has come out (at least in the mainstream) for the last 15 years or so.

Whether it be too little, too late, or right on time it matters not.

She’s here.

This entry was posted in Duality, Entertainment, Fight the Power, Music, The END is NIGH and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

